SEA EU (2.0)

Institution launching the competition:

European Commission under the Erasmus+ programme

The Centre for Sustainable Development of the University of Gdansk is involved in the work of Task 4.4 SEA-EU – Goes greener. The task leader is Sylwia Mrozowska, PhD, DSc, Prof of the UG.

The aim of Task 4.4 is to ensure the transformation of all partner universities based on the sustainable development paradigm.

The partners will create a sustainability network promoting and exchanging green practices at different levels of university organisation and management sharing a common understanding of sustainability-related policies and cultures (Green Charter).

The outcomes of the task will be:

  1. Sustainability Networks.
  2. Local steps to green transformation
  3. A Green Charter – a code of good practice for researchers as well as institutions related to the activities of the Alliance

“The University of Gdansk was among the elite awarded in the European Commission’s ‘European Universities’ competition funded by the Erasmus+ Programme. The initiative aims to build cross-national alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU with a common long-term strategy and European values.
As part of this activity, we are forming the European University of the Seas (SEA-EU) consortium. Our partners are the University of Cadiz (Spain), the University of Western Brittany (France), the Christian-Albrecht University of Kiel (Germany), the University of Split (Croatia) and the University of Malta in Valletta (Malta). As of January 2023, new universities have been admitted to the alliance: the University of Algarve (Portugal), the University of Parthenope in Naples (Italy) and Nord University (Norway). SEA-EU 2.0 will involve 9 universities educating more than 150,000 students and employing 18,000 staff.
Our vision is to create an international, multi-ethnic, multi-lingual and interdisciplinary European University that will enhance scientific and teaching cooperation and foster innovation and knowledge transfer. We are united by a cultural and economic tradition linked to the sea. We cover almost all the seas and oceans that form the northern, western and southern facets of the European continent: The Baltic Sea, the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the Mediterranean Sea and the Adriatic Sea. Most importantly, the maritime sector is of strategic importance to the economies of our nine regions and is a major focus of our education and research.